Etsy Love – Maeday Art Market

13 Dec

Next up in my Etsy Love series, we meet Angeline from Maeday Art Market, who supplies a wonderful selection of Japanese washi tape and fun poster prints.il_570xN_404764077_nx13

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop. 

I’m a graphic design graduate and I love art & crafts, design & photography. I always wanted to have a shop selling art & design pieces that I love and adore. One summer, my friends and I decided to collaborate to participate in a yearly art event, Urbanscape. I made cloth bangles and I was featured in one of Malaysia’s famous fashion online portals, Tongue and Chic. This was my very first time selling handmade items and I loved it.

One day, while catching up with my friend from Uni, she told me about her shop on Etsy and this encouraged me to open one myself. I started selling some Prints & Posters and later I brought in Japanese Washi Tapes to sell. Why Japanese Washi Tapes? Its hard to find in Malaysia and I always wanted to get some for myself to work on my crafts.il_570xN_400924265_a67z

2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us about the thought process involved in creating it and why it is your favourite.

My favourite piece would be the all the Japanese washi tapes that I’m selling. It’s a magical tape, turning ordinary things into beautiful pieces and it makes me happy too.

3. What is it that makes your shop unique?

The first thing people will notice is that my shop is colourful, vibrant & simple. Its an Art Market place for craft lovers!

4. What’s next in the pipeline?

Currently I am supplying paper craft materials (Japanese Washi Tapes) and some Prints & Posters. I will be adding more items to my shop such as supplies for packaging, DIY kits, stationary, some handmade items from yours truly and more Prints & Posters.

5. Tell us something about you or your shop that you haven’t previously shared!il_570xN_395656990_p2ev

I own a sewing machine and I have no idea how to work it. Just signed up for a sewing lesson. You will get to see some of my handmade goodies by next year hopefully 🙂

6. And finally, let us know where we can find you.

Thanks Angeline, I’ve been meaning to brighten up my boring jiffy bag packages and I think washi tape will be the perfect solution!
Leave a Reply

