Etsy Love – Maddy Wear

6 Mar


Next up in my Etsy Love series is Amanda from Maddy Wear who sells handmade baby bibs, toddler bibs and burp cloths.  I think that Maddy Wear’s slogan fits perfectly – Style with a Purpose.  Each bib design is vibrant and funky and Amanda’s shop has a very striking appeal to it.

1. Tell us a bit about yourself and where the inspiration came from to start your Etsy shop. 

I am 35 year old small business owner with a daughter, Madison, who will be four in May and a great husband of 5 years. The inspiration of Maddy Wear started with the wrestling match that Maddy and I would have at every meal. Madison hated the feeling of standard bibs and would always pull them off or move them, which caused quite a mess and ruined so many outfits. I wanted to find an alternative to taking off all her clothes, so I started experimenting with fabric and a design that she wouldn’t “feel”. Over that next year I tweaked the product and added a custom flannel lining for comfort and durability (also reversible) and switched from Velcro to using snaps for all attachments.

2. Do you have a favourite piece? Tell us about the thought process involved in creating it and why it is your favourite.

I have so many favorites! I chose one for a boy and a girl and I love the color green. The zoo animal print has been with me for 3 years and I am almost out of the fabric, but it has been a top seller. The green flower style was a great discovery of a new soft duck cloth fabric. This fabric is very durable and stain resistant, so I have found quite a few different styles to incorporate into the Maddy Wear line.

3. What is the biggest milestone you have achieved so far whilst selling on Etsy?

Etsy can be very overwhelming when you start to dig into the layers. When I first opened my shop in October of 2011, I thought my first big hurdle and “goal” in my eyes would be to sell to someone I didn’t know. I spent a lot of time finding appropriate teams and participating in them daily as well as getting my shop “look” and photos up to par. When I sold that bib, I ran around my living room like a crazy woman, because it was a success and wanted to celebrate it! The consistent challenge is to not get discouraged and continue to believe in your product. When you believe, others will too.

4. What are your future plans for your shop and crafting in general?

I wanted to find a way to incorporate matching bib fabric into other products as well as utilize some of the remnant pieces from my bib patterns. I have just started creating burp cloths with standard print, but also some fun designs as well.

5. And finally let us know where we can find you.

Etsy Shop: http://www.maddywear.etsy.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/maddywear
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/maddywear
Website: http://www.maddywear.com

Thanks for sharing Amanda – you are a true entrepreneur!  I love the fact that you discovered a problem, realised there was a gap in the market and used your creativity to come up with a solution.  If you want something done right, you have to do it yourself!  You have done brilliantly considering the short period of time you have been on Etsy – I know that you will continue to have great success and I wish you all the best!

One Response to “Etsy Love – Maddy Wear”

  1. Denise 6 March 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Love those bibs!

Leave a Reply

