My Cross Stitch Journey

31 Jan

After months of frantically knitting scarves for Christmas I have finally retired my knitting needles and refocused my energies on cross stitch!

Cross stitch has been a passion of mine since I tried my first DMC kit almost four years ago – it was an anemone (flower) which after months of stitching I framed and gave to my grandparents as an anniversary gift.

I soon realised that I had developed an appetite for cross stitch and would need to find another pattern to complete.  However, I needed a bigger challenge and decided to look at more complex designs.  This was when I started my next DMC pattern to create a cushion (pictured below).

A close up of my cross stitch flower cushion

This took me almost a year to complete and I was so proud (but also sad) that I had finally finished it!

This became another stepping stone for me because I then decided that I wanted to create my own patterns from scratch so that I could offer people something which was truly unique.  Having studied illustration at college, I had a portfolio full of potential pictures.  My main inspiration has always been nature and colour so it was easy to choose my first image – a vibrant watercolour painting of a Heliconia.

Heliconia Wall Hanging

I had never realised before how much time and effort went into creating a pattern from scratch before!  It’s not just a case of getting the software and loading up an image.  A pattern needs to flow together in sections of colour as opposed to individual crosses dotted all over the place (which would be very frustrating to stitch)!  You also have to think about how many different colours you want in your pattern.  More colours will create a more realistic image, however it will be more costly and time-consuming.

 
I love the vibrant colours of my Heliconia design, however the pattern doesn’t do the finished piece justice!  The pattern is available in my Etsy shop here and you can clearly see the difference when compared to the image above. Since finishing the Heliconia, I have created another pattern – this time of a tree, and am currently in the process of stitching it up.  Natural forms seem to lend themselves well to the medium of cross stitch – the unified crosses and flowing, natural lines contradict each other nicely. 
 
My latest endeavours came about by trying to combine cross stitch with another hobby of mine – jewellery making.  Using tiny 28 count aida fabric I was able to create frame earrings holding minute designs.  My first pair of cross stitch earrings contain a cute and simple daisy pattern. 
 

Cross Stitch Daisy Earrings

 These earrings are perfect for customisation.  As long as the desired image is small and simple enough, there are endless possibilities to what could be stitched into these frames.  I’ve created two more designs with hearts for Valentine’s Day:

Cross Stitch Heart Arrow Earrings

 
 

Cross Stitch Heart Earrings

I’m currently looking at more ways that cross stitch can be applied to create interesting items and I’ve just finished stitching a QR code which only seems to work when scanned from a very specific angle, so I might have to work on that one!
 
I love a new project so if you would like to request a custom order (pattern or finished piece)  just get in touch – details are on the Contact Page.
Leave a Reply

